Another freebie through MyBlogSpark

Posted on January 27, 2010. Filed under: Freebies, kids | Tags: , , , |

This one is from MyBlogSpark and General Mills.  It seems General Mills is trying to cahgne their reputation when it comes to kid’s cereals.  To that end, they have reduced the sugar and upped the vitamins in their four main offerings:  Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Cocoa Puffs, Trix, and Lucky Charms.  And of course all Big G cereals have at least 8 grams of whole grain.  General Mills kindly sent me 4 free product coupons, of which I have so far only used one.  We usually don’t eat sugary cereals, but I decided to give these new, improved varieities a try.

My son was so excited to get to bring home one of the kid varieties he almost couldn’t choose, but he finally settled on Cocoa Puffs.  He ate less than one bowl.  Go figure, he doesn’t like them!  I guess the early training shows, and he is just not accustomed to eating cereal that tastes like candy.  I’m not complaining.  We did try Fruity Cheerios too, since I know he likes regular and Honey Nut Cheerios, but with the same result.  I think I am going to give it one more shot to use up my coupons with Cinnamon Toast Crunch (I have been told it is not as sweet), before I congratulate myself on having implanted at least one healthy eating habit into my 6 year old and move on.

For those of you who have normal children who want the sweet stuff, while I still wouldn’t recommend it as a daily thing, this new healthification effort from General Mills does make it ok to indulge them sometimes.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...