Spelling Curriculum

Posted on May 13, 2009. Filed under: Daily life, Homeschool | Tags: , , , , |

I sometimes hang out at the Well-Trained Mind Forums(there is a homeschool book/guide called The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education – the authors set up the forum for homeschooling parents following their program to communicate with each other) and get tips about various school related topics.  It is a great place to learn about new things in the world of homeschooling, and about how to deal with your kids when you are with them ALL THE TIME.  Seriously people, it is great, but it provides a whole new set of challenges you non-stay-at-home parents never have to deal with.  Anyway, I dropped in on a thread about spelling curriculum the other day.  It turns out that my ambivalent feelings toward Spelling Workout are pretty common.  It isn’t bad, it’s just boring and sort of busyworkish (and yes, I know that’s not a word).

The main recommendation from the parents of early elementary students was a program called All About Spelling.  I looked it up on the internet, and liked what I saw.  It uses multiple teaching methods to reinforce learning, including tactile for those kinesthetic learners out there (people who learn by doing – they use letter tiles to form the words).  I’m not sure if it is right for my little guy since it seems pretty intensive and he is already a good speller, but when I go to the FPEA Homeschool Convention next weekend I’m going to look for a vendor selling the program so I can see it up close.  I’ll post what I find.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Spelling Curriculum”

RSS Feed for Adventures At Home Comments RSS Feed

Hi! We won’t be attending the FPEA Homeschool Convention this year, and the books are only available online at http://www.all-about-spelling.com. We do offer a 100% one year guarantee, though, so you can check out the program for a full year and see if it is the right match for you and your children. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions!

Personally, I like “busyworkish” as a word! LOL I do know what you mean though. My daughter has dyslexia and CAPD, so workbook type stuff just doesn’t work for her. While we haven’t used All About Spelling, we have used and enjoy Spelling and Vocabulary City. It’s free (well, they do have a premium membership available). It has Teach Me, Spelling Test, Vocabulary Test, Flash Cards, and Play a Game as options as well as printable handwriting sheets. You can use your own words or pre-made lists at the site. There are tons of lists broken down into categories like, sequential spelling, analogies, Dolch sight words, literature based words… They also have a 55 week phonics and sight words spelling curriculum, too. Anyway, my daughter likes it, and having her like something is half the battle around here. Since she is a visual learner (right-brained) it is a pretty good match for us.

Joyfully,
Jackie
Oh, here is the link for the site: http://www.spellingcity.com/spelling-curriculum.html


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...