Mango Pineapple Jam

Posted on May 9, 2009. Filed under: Daily life, Recipes | Tags: , , , , |

Ok, so after letting my first ever attempt at homemade jam sit in the fridge overnight, I am ready to declare it a success!    Hubby has still not tried it, but my dad and stepmom were over today and they tried it.  Plus, I like it, and that’s what is really important ;).

So anyway, here is the recipe I used:

  1. 2 cups diced mango (I actually used a melon baller to get the mango off the seed)
  2. 1 small container of pineapple chunks or tidbits – or even crushed pineapple
  3. 3-4 tablespoons honey
  4. a couple squirts of lemon juice

I mixed all ingredient in a 2 qt saucepan and brought the mixture to a boil, then reduced heat and simmered for about 30 minutes, stirring about every 5 minutes or so.  If you want more fruit chunks, cook less.  If you want your jam smooth, cook longer.  Then I put the jam into 2 pint jars that I had previously cleaned.  I let them cool on the counter for a while before I put them in the refrigerator.

I would assume the basic recipe would work for any type of fruit.  As I have extra fruit I will try different things and update you all on how it goes.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Mango Pineapple Jam”

RSS Feed for Adventures At Home Comments RSS Feed

[…] Original post by truscifi […]

I concur: it’s yummy! And I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to be spending time with you.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...