Thinking about next year’s Adventures in Homeschooling

Posted on March 12, 2009. Filed under: Daily life, Homeschool | Tags: , , , |

We are rapidly approaching the end of the school year (for us that depends on when we finish everything I wanted to get done this year – could be May or June).  As I look ahead toward next year, I have been thinking about things that worked well this year, and things that did not.  I have already talked about my concerns with Saxon math moving so slowly that my little guy got bored and frustrated with it, and my decision to try Singapore math next year instead.  I also had some issues with record keeping – mainly that I got bored with writing lesson plans down every day.  I wound up giving up after a few months and just noting what book we were working in and keeping all worksheets, narrations, projects, and other evidence that school is actually taking place.  That should be fine for 1st grade, and maybe even all of elementary school, but if we are still homeschooling at higher grades, that just won’t cut it.  So I’m going to try a new record for the rest of this year, and maybe another one after that, until I find one that works for me.

For the rest of this year, we will keep a monthly calendar on the fridge.  I found blank calendar pages in many places on the internet, easy to print out and fill in as needed.  We will fill in known activities at the beginning of the month, and add what we work on in school as we do it, since it does not follow a set schedule.  I’m hoping to get my little guy involved in this so he will help me remember to write things down in a timely fashion.

Also, I think we are going to do more workbook-based learning next year.  My son has gotten used to the format, and he works fairly well on his own in workbooks.  Also, it is easy to set up a reward system for work completed, such as 5 minutes computer or tv time for each page completed, or 1 minute for each problem completed, or something along those lines.  I have been surfing various homeschooling sites, and have seen many suggestions – even one for points based on how much work is completed.  The points can be accumulated to earn a weekend trip or other treat (I’m currently working on getting some camping equipment, so we could do weekend camping trips as a reward — BTW, to any friends or family who have camping equipment you don’t use anymore, we’d love to have it!).  I’m leaning toward the point system, because we already have established limits on tv and computer time.  Plus it gives us more flexibility to reward him with something he is interested in at that time.  And I just like traveling and camping. 😉

Anyway, I’m adding some of the homeschool sites I’ve been looking through to my list of links at the bottom of the page.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...