Another Weigh In

Posted on March 11, 2009. Filed under: Weight loss | Tags: , , , |

And lost 3 more pounds this week!  That brings me to a total of 18 lbs so far, with 15 to go to reach my goal weight.  And I had my second weight management group meeting, this time about setting goals.  The high points were to set realistic goals, so that you don’t set yourself up for failure, to have a plan to deal with obstacles or temptations, and to reward yourself for meeting or exceeding your goals with something other than food.  These all seem like comon sense things, now that I see them all written out, but they can be surprisingly tricky to accomplish in the real world.  Especially the part about setting realistic goals – I mean, 10 lbs in a month seems realistic to me, but it is actually a stretch unless you are working much harder than I am willing to work.  Apparently 1-2 lbs a week is more realistic, but it depends on your individual metabolic rate and activity level (all the hard work on the garden probably knocked off the extra pound this week).  This is why I am glad I went with a doctor supervised program, where I had a test done to see what my metabolic rate really is and therefore know what to expect of myself.

Anyway, for anyone else out there who is struggling with weight issues, keep the faith.  If I can do it, so can you.  Just maybe not all on your own.  🙂

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...