Adventures in Karate

Posted on March 9, 2009. Filed under: Daily life, Karate | Tags: , , , |

Well, my little guy started sparring class in karate last week. I forgot to take my camera, but I will take pictures at the next class on Friday. It was very cute, seeing all the little kids wearing their pads and helmets, like a miniature version of American Gladiators! (I know, not everyone remembers that show, but those that do will know exactly what I mean!)

He did pretty well, but I think he is shy about actually making contact when throwing a punch, especially since his first match was with one of his best friends, who also happens to be a girl! We have talked about the importance of not hitting, and only using karate in class or to defend himself from bullies or bad guys, so it was hard for him to go from that to punching someone. I do want him to learn though, because he has already been picked on at the playground by an older boy, and he didn’t know what to do.

Testing for new belts will be in the next 2-3 weeks, and he is testing for his orange belt! (I may be testing for my orange belt too. I think I’m ready, but I just tested last time, and usually students only test every other time, so I may have to wait another 2 months!)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Adventures in Karate”

RSS Feed for Adventures At Home Comments RSS Feed

Love the new blog – a great idea to share your days with the rest of us and allow us to feel a little less “remote”.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...