Yummy Mexican food!

Posted on March 5, 2009. Filed under: Recipes | Tags: , , , |

I have been combing the internet for healthy and tasty recipes since I started my diet, because I am trying to still eat diner with my family even though I eat the meal replacements for every other meal.  And my family got tired of 3 oz of fish or chicken and 1 cup of fresh vegetables every night.  So I have been finding meals that have around 200 calories per serving, and hubby and son can eat side dishes with theirs.

Anyway, last night I made one of these meals – and it was WONDERFUL!  I made Ropa Vieja, a Mexican dish of shredded beef with a few vegetables.  I used this recipe from MSN’s delish site.  I only used 1 1/2 bell peppers instead of the 3 it called for, and I think I could have used a whole cup of the pickled jalapenos (it wasn’t spicy at all, just flavorful).  I was surprised to find carrots in the can with the pickled jalapenos, but they were tasty, so no complaints.  And this is a crockpot recipe, so all I had to do was start it in the morning, and come back to eat it at night.  My favorite kind of meal – easy, healthy, and delicious!  I put mine in a tortilla, but you could also eat it over rice, with bread, or even on a bed of salad greens.

ropa-vieja-120

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Yummy Mexican food!”

RSS Feed for Adventures At Home Comments RSS Feed

Sounds good, thanks for the recipe and for your participation in the Cerebral Barbedwire “All articles and topics daily blog carnival” – http://cerebralbarbedwire.blogspot.com/2009/03/cerebral-barbedwire-blog-carnival-march_10.html

Feel free to particpate again


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...