Adventures in Weight Loss

Posted on March 4, 2009. Filed under: Weight loss | Tags: , , , |

So, on top of everything else I’m doing, I’m also trying to get healthy.  After a regular exercise program had no effect (other than a little better muscle tone) I decided to go radical and take advantage of the fact that my regular doctor is also certified in bariatrics.  I started the Optifast program through her office in mid-January.

The program is pretty brutal at the beginning – I was cut back to 800 calories a day.  Surprisingly, it was not as bad as I thought it would be.  The doctor’s office provides meal replacement bars, shakes, and even microwaveable meals that are pretty darn tasty (the fudge graham bars are my current favorite, although I dearly love the high protein cappuchino drinks too).  And I have weekly checkups where I get a vitamin and amino acid shot that helps keep my energy up.  And of course my doc put me on vitamin supplements as well.  The best part of the program is the resting metabolic rate (RMR) test, which calculates how many calories your body actually burns in a normal day, not including any extra exercise.  Mine was 1587 when I started, so with the cut back to 800 calories, I have been losing 2-3 lbs each week.  When I have reached my goal weight (18 lbs to go!) I will take another RMR test to see what my updated caloric needs are, and I will know exactly how much I can eat every day to maintain a healthy weight.  And because I have a previous diagnosis of diabetes, my insurance pays for most of it!  (I pay for the shots and food – they pay for office visits, tests, and a weekly class for behavior modification/nutrition.  This is true with most insurance companies, and they cover weight loss treatment as a medical necessity for other conditions such as high blood pressure and heart disease also.)

I know this sounds like an extreme program, and it isn’t for everyone.  But due to my risk for diabetes and complications, and the fact that I was already 33 lbs overweight and heading up instead of down despite my best efforts, I felt it was worth it.  I have a check up today, and I start the weekly class today, so I will post again tonight or tomorrow about it.

In a combined effort toward maintaining a healthy lifestyle, educating my son, and being more eco-friendly I am starting a vegetable garden this week – so stay tuned for posts and pics of how to garden when your yard is all sand!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Adventures in Weight Loss”

RSS Feed for Adventures At Home Comments RSS Feed

whatever works! some people are competitive and this is a good way to feed into that competitive streak to reach a goal and great result

Nice post! Keep it real.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...